Withdrawal Struggles

When I started working, I knew no one in my department (my other friends were on different departments and different floors of the store). I kept to myself and barely talked. I didn’t see anyone who was really around my age, anyone who I was able to talk to freely and be able to relate.

Fast forward to this point in my work life, I’ve gotten more open and chatty. I’ve met many people, even those around my age, and made some pretty solid friendships I hope will never disappear. Thinking about the inevitable fact that I’d have to quit in 2-3 weeks’ time makes me horribly sad. I’m definitely going to miss everyone I’ve met at work, especially two people. I never expected to become this close to my colleagues-turned-friends, and thinking about never seeing them pains me. Sure, maybe I’ll be able to meet up with them on some occasions, but the fact that I won’t see them as often as I do now kills me. They made me look forward to working, and they made me realise many, many things along the way too.

I know I still have a couple of weeks before I call quits and focus on school, but I’m already starting to have withdrawals. It’s inevitable, really it is, and my track record for keeping in touch with ‘long-distance’ friendships is horrible. However, I really hope I’ll be able to maintain these two particular friendships. These two people are the ones I’d cross oceans for, even if they don’t necessarily return the same favour.

Expressing my feelings and emotions aren’t really my forte, but I hope I’ll be able to let them know how much I’ll miss them and just hanging out with them. Heck, I’ll even pay for a night out of eating just to be able to cap off working with them for a night of talking and a ton of teasing about whoever and whatever.

Do I get attached easily? Definitely. But that’s because I know a good person when I see one, even despite their troubled past, present or future. They probably won’t see this, and it’s probably the best that they don’t, but I’ll miss them.

I’ll miss them so much.

Leave a Reply

